In 2018, professional tennis returned to the state of Iowa with the inaugural Old Capitol Futures tournament in Iowa City, Iowa. The UTSA Pro Circuit Event featured 64 qualifying players, 32 in the main draw, and 16 doubles teams. The tournament took place at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Center on the University of Iowa campus from July 14th- July 22nd.

The singles draw was won by Lloyd Glasspool over Evgeny Kalovskiy in two sets, 7-6, 7-6. Karlovskiy was the No.1 seed for the tournament, and is currently ranked 246 in the world singles ranking. Glasspool is currently ranked 430 in the world singles ranking. Nick Chappell and Alex Adamson won the doubles title 2-6, 6-2, 10-6 over Matic Spec and Felix Corwin.

Hawkeye players Kareem Al Allaf, Will Davies and Joe Tyler all competed in the first round of the singles main draw, Al Allaf being the only singles winner from the University of Iowa. Hawkeyes Josh Silverstein and Jason Kerst lost their doubles match 1-6, 2-6 to Alafia Ayeni and Danny Thomas. Al Allaf and Piotr Smietana fell 3-6, 2-6 to Martin Joyce and Maxime Cressy.

Kareem Al Allaf made it to the quarterfinals of the singles main draw by defeating current Northwestern Wildcat Strong Kirchheimer in a Big Ten showdown. Al Allaf was then defeated by No. 3 seed Collin Altamirano 6-4, 6-2. Alex Brown, Iowa native and current athlete at the University of Illinois-Champaign, was also a competitor at the Old Capitol Futures.

Alex Voss will return as Tournament Director for the 2019 tournament which is renamed the the Old Capitol Tennis Championships. The tournament will again take place at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Center with qualifying scheduled to start on July 15 and the singles final scheduled for July 21. More details about this year’s tournament are to follow.

Tournament Partners

tournament partner logos